Clubhouse 1

Founding Members

Thank You to These Visionary Founding Members

The Village Community Fund began in 2017 by a group of residents meeting monthly to plan an organization designed to serve the community beyond needs provided for by the Foundation of Laguna Woods Village. Donations from early planning group members funded the start-up costs.

The first Task Force meeting on April 26, 2017, was attended by residents Diane Phelps (chair), Joan Milliman, Lucy Parker, and Mary Stone with Betty Parker (Chief Financial Officer of VMS). From the beginning, the group’s vision was shared with Foundation leaders, including current and past Foundation Board Members Marcy Sheinwold, Beth Perak, and Marion Levine.

VCF was modeled after the successful Leisure World Foundation of Mesa, Arizona. Sandra Lacklore, President of the Arizona Foundation, served as a consultant to the new group. Additional assistance was provided by resident Dan Kenny, former Laguna Beach Mayor and City Council Member, and the team at Quadrant Law Group of Irvine, California, who executed our incorporation December 13, 2017.

Incorporating officers were:

  • John Parker, President;
  • Kay Levingston, Secretary
  • Mindy Armstrong, Treasurer.